Premier Appoints New Leaders, Adds Diversity to Senior Ranks

Premier Iain Rankin has appointed senior staff to help lead the changes he announced earlier today, Feb. 23, revamping departments to support his vision for a dynamic and prosperous Nova Scotia.

“Together with elected officials, government’s senior leaders are part of the team that will be making positive changes on behalf of Nova Scotians,” said Premier Rankin. “Having more diversity among our public servant leaders is a priority for me, as we work to implement more equitable policies and programs for all Nova Scotians.”

The province is welcoming three new leaders.

Késa Munroe-Anderson is the new deputy minister of Communities, Culture and Heritage. Ms. Munroe-Anderson brings a passion for an Africentric approach to leadership and comes to us from the Human Rights Commission, where she has been the director of Race Relations.

Eiryn Devereaux is returning home to Nova Scotia as the deputy minister for the new Department of Infrastructure and Housing. Mr. Devereaux is currently a senior executive in the Government of Nunavut and has experience in housing and infrastructure management.

Nicole Johnson Morrison will join government at the end of March as the new associate deputy minister of Labour and Advanced Education. Ms. Johnson Morrison is most recently the president and CEO of EduNova and has also worked with NSBI where she was the manager of Trade Market Intelligence and a senior trade strategist.

Being promoted from within the public service is Andrea Anderson who will take on the role of public service commissioner. Ms. Anderson has held the roles of managing director and executive director at the commission and has recently been working with senior leaders on anti-black racism initiatives.

From the Department of Environment, Scott Farmer is moving over to serve as deputy minister for the newly named Department of Inclusive Economic Growth. He is being joined by Jennifer Church as a new associate deputy minister. Ms. Church will also take on associate deputy minister duties at the Office of Strategy Management.

Jason Hollett steps up as the new associate deputy minister of the renamed Department of Environment and Climate Change. He will work with Julie Towers who becomes the deputy minister, hailing from the Department of Lands and Forestry.

Moving from the Department of Labour and Advanced Education as associate deputy minister, Ava Czapalay is now the new CEO and deputy minister for the Office of Immigration and Population Growth. As a descendent of immigrants, Ms. Czapalay will bring important perspective to this role.

Additional leadership changes include:

  • Justin Huston retains leadership of the newly named Office of L’nu Affairs, and he becomes deputy minister of the Department of Municipal Affairs
  • Cathy Berliner, moves from the Department of Municipal Affairs to take on the deputy minister role at the new Office of Equity and Anti-Racism Initiatives
  • Paul LaFleche remains as deputy minister for the Department of Transportation and Active Transit, and also takes on deputy minister duties at the Department of Lands and Forestry
  • with the retirement of Deputy Minister Byron Rafuse at the end of March, Kelliann Dean becomes deputy minister of Finance and Treasury Board. She retains responsibility for Intergovernmental Affairs and Trade