New members named to Accessibility Advisory Board

Nova Scotia has appointed a new chair and vice-chair to lead the work of the Accessibility Advisory Board and welcomes several new members.

“The board plays a significant role in guiding us on our journey to becoming an accessible province by 2030,” said Mark Furey, Minister of Justice and Attorney General. “The interests of Nova Scotians will be very well served by the leadership of newly appointed chair and vice-chair, Rosalind Penfound and David Caswell. I am very much looking forward to what they and our newly appointed and experienced members will accomplish.”

Four newly appointed members are replacing current members whose terms end on Feb. 7.

Appointees are:

  • Birgit Elssner, Wolfville
  • Andrew Jantzen, Halifax
  • Ellen Johnson, Bridgewater
  • Jenny-Rachel Lind, New Waterford

Six members are returning for a second term:

  • Rosalind Penfound, chair, Dartmouth
  • David Caswell, vice-chair, Waverley
  • Cynthia Bruce, Kentville
  • Linda Campbell, Halifax
  • Marcie Shwery-Stanley, Sydney
  • Anne Sinclair, Halifax

The Accessibility Advisory Board was established in 2018 and is responsible for advising and making recommendations to the minister of Justice about accessibility.

The majority of board members are persons with disabilities. Members of the board also represent various sectors, including business, education and building design, and reside in various communities across the province.